A Brief History of the Scoring of the Game

When the game was first started by Nelson Slagle in 1955, predictors were asked to pick the top four teams in each of the eight team major leagues. Scoring was based on how many games (points) each team needed to win, or lose, to move into their predicted order of finish and 1/2 points were introduced into the scoring. Predictors also listed just the top four teams in 1956 before listing all eight teams in each league beginning in 1957. The 1/2 point scores remained in the scoring until the game was discontinued after the 1970 season.

When Jim Slagle restarted the game in 1976, he dropped the 1/2 point scores and introduced a tie-breaker. The tie-breaker required each predictor to also pick the winners in each League Championship Series and the World Series. Predictors were awarded from three to zero points, depending the number of correct series predictions. From this point on the only changes to the scoring of the game have been with the tie-breaker.

The tie-breaker was dropped when Nelson assumed responsibility for the game in 1980 (I guess Nelson doesn't like TBs) and reintroduced by Gerry Hamilton in 1982, after he had assumed the same role. The tie-breaker was expanded in 1988 to include the total games won in the post-season by each predictor's projected division winners.

In 1994 the tie-breaker was once again changed. This time the tie-breaker used by Dennis Davis in his game at Kaiser Permanente in Dallas, TX was adopted into our game. The tie-breaker became the points (or games) accumulated during the regular season by each player's projected division winners.

The tie-breaker and in fact all game scoring has remained the same 1994.

Early Years